The Ugly Truth on Social Media

The truth is Social Media can make or break you. Whether you are a college student, business tycoon or a national organization Social Media can help you out or tear you down.

Lets begin by talking about what Social Media can do for the college student. Being one myself I know that Facebook, Instagram and Twitter are a big part of our everyday lives. As I talked about in my last post, the first thing I do in the morning is check my Social Media accounts. But I’m not here to talk about how often we use Social Media I am here to talk about what it can do for us. Lets rewind to last weekend when you decided it would be fun to have a friend take pictures of you doing a keg stand and then you of course had to upload them to Facebook for all of your friends to see. Now while it was super cool and all to see how many likes you got, what do you think a future employer is going to think when they stumble across that?

YIKES!!!

Image
http://www.seykota.com/tt/workshops/default.html

 

Chances are you’re not going to get the job.

So now that we have brushed over how Social Media can hurt you, lets talk about how it can help you. First off get a LinkedIn! Its basically a professional Facebook. You can use it to find jobs and network with people. And what a great thing for a future employer to find while they are searching you on the web. It’s also smart to keep your personal Social Media sites well balanced between professional and fun. It’s OK to post about your fun day at the mall or how you are getting manicures with your friends, but don’t forget to post about the interesting article you just read or retweet something from PR Daily. Show the world how well rounded you are by following a variety of different things! You know you’re smart so let everyone else know too!

Enough about college students, lets chat a little bit about how organizations can really utilize Social Media.

I think that it’s safe to say that a lot of organizations aren’t using Social Media simply because they don’t know how. Simon Sanders stated in “Share This” that out of around 1,000 clients, brands, marketing, digital and PR agencies around 35% of them are either still experimenting with Social Media or aren’t doing it at all. Its time to hop on the bandwagon everybody! Social media is cool!

Image

 

http://boldandfierce.com/the-social-media-phenomenon-a-discussion-with-my-husband/

Before you hop on the Social Media train let me share with you a few steps that found in “Share This.”

1. “Select your squad”
you need to determine who you are going to take with you while you embark on this journey. It can be your PR people (if you have them), the marketing department or even customer service. Really whoever you thing is going to rock at it.

2. “Choose a goal”
What are you going to use Social Media for? Reaching out to consumers? Promoting new products? Launching a campaign? When you are first starting out have just one or two goals so you don’t get overwhelmed.

3. “Start listening”
Listen to what your consumers are saying! People are going to reach out to you listen to them and respond! Engage in Twitter chats and other online conversations.

In my opinion one of the worst things an organization can do is not respond to consumers or delete negative feedback. The purpose of Social Media is to connect people and to share thoughts and ideas. You are going to make your company look bad if you only show positive feedback or never reply to consumers.

Let’s all pledge to use Social Media positively!

Cheers,

Emma

 

4 thoughts on “The Ugly Truth on Social Media

  1. Emma,

    It’s amazing how much of an impact social media can make on your future. You bring up good points here when you talk about what it can do for college students. In my internship I had last semester it didn’t even register to me that they’d go in and search me on Facebook or Twitter and I didn’t have any idea until one of my bosses told me they do searches online of all the intern candidates. There is so much truth to the saying “a picture is worth a thousand words,” it’s up to us to make sure what the world is talking about is positively. Organizations that aren’t using social media are truly missing out on a great opportunity. For one, it’s FREE to connect with other businesses and customers. 35% is too large of a number in this day and age with technology. I like the steps the book gives us to start using social media and how selecting the proper group can make a difference. One thing I hadn’t considered is that if a company is trying to do crisis management, they will talk their PR people with them online and if a company wants to promote a new product or service, they might use their marketing people. PR and SM have so much variety and I have so much to learn about all the ways we can use it to help us in our career.

  2. Leah,

    I have definitely been a lot more conscious about what I post on social media. As much as we like to think that just untagging a photo erases it, it’s just not true. We really need to pay attention to the things we say and the pictures we post.

    Totally agree with you, there is still so much to learn about how to utilize social media to its fullest potential!

    • Emma,
      Finding those pictures we posted when we were in high school thinking we were so cool is awful! I am not friends on FB with a lot of the people i used to be friends with and if i ever stumble upon their page my pictures are still on there! Watching that video about the sorority girl’s email made me confused on how she would ever think that was ok!

      • Leah,

        Totally with you! Every since that class I have been slowly cleaning out my Social Media. I am also deleting people I do not want to be associated with. Another thing I am considering is going by Emma DiLaura, my middle name and mom’s maiden name, because there is another Emma Krzyzaniak.

Leave a Reply

